Peace at last ?

At CES we saw the introduction of the LG BH-100… A dual format player capable of playing both Blu-Ray and HD-DVD discs.
So… is this the end of the HD format war? Will people be coming out in droves to buy either Blu Ray or HD DVD? I don’t think so. Although it seems like a nice compromise, it doesn’t solve the underlying problem of any format war. People won’t be manufacturing these dual players forever. Once a market leader has established itself in it’s comfortable position, you’ll see dual format players dissapear. And what are you going to do with your obsolete media then? Take the VHS /Betamax format war as the best example. Plenty of VHS players around but have hybrid Beta/VHS players been widely available for say, the last 8 years? Simple answer: No. So forgive me if I’m sceptical about LG’s new product and HD media in general, but until this issue has been resolved I’m not going to commit myself to any format. I’m sticking to good ol’ DVD and perhaps an upconverting DVD-player… and something tells me that I won’t be the only one.

Let’s hope that developments in IPTV and online HD content download services (now there’s a mouthful) will render this discussion obsolete (and soon!🙂 )