The spice must flow…

200px-atreides.jpgI recently finished the Dune prequel series ‘Prelude To Dune’ and can heartily recommend it. Taking place in the years before the original Dune it fills in a lot of the background about a multitude of Dune characters, like how Duke Leto came to power, how Paul Atreides was born, how Shaddam started his great Spice war and many more. It’s a great read for any fan of the Dune universe (although Brian Herbert doesn’t quite match his father when it comes to writing science fiction novels, but ask yourself if anyone really can?) or anyone just looking for a decent new sci-fi. For those who are interested I’m including a link to their Amazon listing.

House Atreides

House Harkonnen

House Corrino

I’ve also just started reading Cycle of Hatred by Keith R.A. Decandido, a fantasy novel set in the Warcraft universe. I’m about 100 pages in and sadly I can already see that Decandido’s writing just isn’t up to par with that of say Richard A. Knaak, who gave us the beautiful War Of The Ancients trilogy. I’ll finish it though, mostly because I love the setting and have played the games, but I have to say that this book has hardly inspired me to go out and buy more of Decandido’s work. Sorry Keith that’s just how I feel about it.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Back in action « Life, Tech and other nonsense