The future of the world, today!

Before I start this post, just go read this, it’s hilarious, it has absolutely nothing to do with what I’m going to write below, just go read it. Take your time, I’ll wait…

Are you back? Great. Now for something completely different.

I was at a friends house today, me and a couple of other people. Just killing time, making use of the occasion to test drive his relatively new PS3. This was in all honesty the first time I have ever sat down with any of the next-gen consoles. The fact that we were able to play it on a HUGE Sony Bravia Full HD screen didn’t hurt either. We go through the games: Resistance, NFS, demo’s of Motorstorm and Gran Turismo HD, etc. The games themselves were pretty decent, especially Resistance: Fall Of Man. While not an instant classic in the least (the fact that every gameplay mechanic in the game can be found in any recent FPS is a major contributor to that), it’s far more enjoyable than I had believed at first. I still don’t like the PS3’s controller when playing FPS games, I still prefer a mouse and keyboard configuration or even the Xbox Controller which is far superior. However I don’t want to talk about the PS3. In many ways I still vehemently dislike the console and dislike Sony ( the self-crowned King Of Proprietary). No, what I want to talk about is the thing that small gaming session convinced me off: HD Gaming on your TV.

Huge television

Yeah, I know what you’re gonna say, HD gaming has been around for years. Gamers on the PC have been using higher resolutions for years, and consoles are just playing catch up. I totally agree. And yet there is something to be said for sitting in your couch, in front of a big screen and just having outrageous fun. That short gaming session reminded me why I bought almost all of the last gen consoles. And the generation before that and the one before that one. It’s just pure fun.

That’s why I’d like to make an analogy. Consider, if you will, gaming on the PC as a stylised art form, an intense drama novel or a complex psycho-thriller. Console gaming would than be analogous to an over the top action movie or a wild rollercoaster ride. I admit, there are games who defy this analogy. But when I look back, my most fun moments on the console were to be found in the endless hours of Dead Or Alive 3 or Halo 2 I played. On the PC that situation is reversed. Chasing Diablo across the planes of Hell or conquering the Medieval world would rank as my top moments. I guess there is a place after all for both kinds of gaming, the increasing convergence between the two not withstanding.

I know not everyone will agree with me ( in fact, I believe the majority will disagree🙂 ), but that’s just how I think about it.

And hey, at least I’ve proven I’m not a total PC snob