Enjoy the view

I finally got a hold of a copy of Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit. You can’t imagine how hard it was to actually buy of a 64-bit version! None of my usual stores had it in stock, so I had to buy it online. I’m actually glad I did because I got it for 30€ less than the retail price.

I basically have two reasons for buying this version:

1. Gotta get the Ultimate. Anybody who considers them self a ‘computer-enthusiast’ will buy this version. It’s got the Media Center, Bitlocker, Aero, Ultimate extra’s etc. This copy is going to be used for a gaming system with a small amount of video/image/sound editing on the side. There will be a lot of upgrading and a lot of part swapping. If I had needed a Media Center PC, I would just have gone out and bought an OEM version of 32-bit Home Premium.

    2. 64-bit. The 32-bit era is slowly coming to an end. With the noise out of Microsoft indicating that Vista will be the last version of Windows to have a 32-bit version and Apple proudly proclaiming that Leopard will be 100% 64-bit compatible, the time has finally come. The main issue for me is that you can’t use more than 3-ish gigs of RAM. Some have criticised it for it’s lack of compatibility, but I’ll be glad when I’m free of unsigned driver crashes.

    It’s just a shame that I won’t be able to install it for at least a week since finals are consuming all of my time.

    Patience, patience…