Out with the old, in with the new

I have a confession to make: I think Battlestar Galactica is better than Star Trek…

Back off Trekkies, let me explain.

william-adama.jpg

I’ve been a Star Trek fan since the day I saw my first episode. I own every episode on DVD (except Enterprise, that crap shouldn’t ever have been made). I even liked the movies (yes, even Insurrection). It’s sad to see that despite news of a new movie, the Star Trek franchise is in so much trouble. But with stuff like Battlestar Galactica (BSG) blowing it out of the water, it’s hardly surprising.

The two main things BSG has that makes it better than Star Trek are story and people. Let me elaborate. Look across every episode of Star Trek you’ve seen. Got that? Good. In how many of those episodes do the characters honestly advance the plot? Not many right? It’s always some gizmo or anomaly mixed with a whole slur of technobabble that’s the catalyst to the whole episode. Deep Space Nine turned this around at the end with the Dominion War story arc but TNG, Voyager, TOS are all guilty of this. What’s worse is that at the end of every episode, it’s as if the entire series reboots. Nobody important dies, nothing really earth-shattering happens.

Now compare this to Galactica. Every episode furthers the grand story, a story based on deep, engaging characters. Technobabble is outlawed and the

number-six.jpg

world actually seems believable. As I write this post I’ve just now watched the ‘Pegasus Arc‘ from Season 2. The suspense, the tension, that urgent feelling of ‘whats gonna happen now’ is surreal. It’s something that one rarely finds on TV and you’d actually find rather more easily in a motion picture.

BSG is also finite. When they annnounced that season 4 would be the last season, I didn’t like it at first but I think that in hindsight it will prove to be a very good decision. When you reach the end of a tale, don’t dawdle and stretch it to the limit. Don’t wear out the franchise. (Are you listening Berman?)

I guess what I’m trying to say is: Star Trek is a really cool show. Add depth and engaging plot to that and you get Battlestar Galactica.

Written by Posted in TV