Let’s Talk About Headphones

So bought myself the Sennheiser RS170 Wireless Headphones.

This is a perfect example of me buying a technology product not because I wanted it, but because I needed it.

I was originally using the HD 62’s. They were decent but not that great so once I got myself air-conditioning, I switched over to the eH 250’s.
I had to, after all, who wants to play an in-depth roleplaying game like Dragon Age: Origins with tons of well written dialogue, while the AC is constantly droning on in the background? Once I started using them extensively however I was quickly confronted by the annoyance of wired headphones.

You see, I have a Creative Gigaworks G500 5.1 speaker set attached to my gaming rig (by way of a Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Soundcard) and one of the things that’s cool about it is the Power Touch wired controller that allows you to set the volume of your individual speakers, set intensity of the subwoofer, etc. It also allows you to attach any kind of headphones via a 3.5 mm audio jack. The problem was, with the wired headphones, I was constantly getting the wires tangled and I ended up ripping out my headphones by accident on multiple occasions. It got so bad that I somehow dislodged the audio jack within the controller which resultated in muffled sound and audio only coming in through either the left or right audio channel. After performing a masterful repair of the controller (a.k.a. poking at it with a stick or in this case a handy toothpick) I decided to order some wireless headphones.

So far I really like the RS170’s.  The sound quality is great and they fit snugly around my ears. There’s also none of the telltale hissing or interference you might get with cheaper wireless headphones.

Big props go to Coolblue as well. Get this: if you order anything from one of their stores on a weekday before 22.00 you will almost always get it delivered early the next morning. Coolblue has quickly become my favorite online retailer when it come to electronics and gadgets.

Now the only thing that can still go wrong is my toothpick-style repair, which quite honestly could blow up at any moment.

I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.