More Morning Musume Stuff GETS!!!

Here we go again, a box of stuff just got dropped off, so naturally I blog about it.

It’s a full Morning Musume box this time. (click to go to the bigger photo)

FYI all of these pictures were taken with a Nikon Coolpix S520. I adjusted the levels in Paint.NET.

I have to say, I was pleased with the packaging on my last CDJapan order, but this time it was extraordinarily well packaged. The CD’s don’t shuffle around, everything is tightly packed. It felt like a solid block of Morning Musume goodness.

Next up, the groupshot.

Up next: individual photos.

Morning Musume’s 5th studio album, No.5

Morning Musume’s 6th album, Ai no Dai 6 Kan (A 6th Sense of Love)

Morning Musume’s 7th Album, Rainbow 7.

I personally think No.5 is their worst album. Yes, it has hits like Do it! NOW and Koko ni Iruzee! and the rest of the songs aren’t really bad, they just don’t appeal to me. Two of the songs are also basically longer versions of commercial jingles. I find No.5’s lack of quality quite strange, expecially since the preceding album (4th “Ikimasshoi!”) and the next album are so good. Still, I plan to get their entire discography so, it’s still a must buy for me.

The weird thing was, for some reason the labeling and booklet on No.5’s CD case seems to have been put on backwards. Doesn’t bother me, but still strange. Was this how it was supposed to be or do I just have a rare version that was put in backwards on the assembly line?

And finally…

Morning Musume’s Concert Tour 2006 Aki ~Odore! Morning Curry~. I bought this for a number of reasons. I had heard a lot of good things about this concert DVD. The setlist is great. One of the extras is the Odore Morning Curry version of Morning Musume’s classic song Koi no Dance Site. But the main reason I bought this is the legendary rendition of Shabondama by Kamei Eri and Yoshizawa Hitomi, which I have included below.

Keep in mind, this song was originally performed and sung by 15 people (it was the debut song of the 6th generation members). To see it performed with the same angry intensity but by just two people is mindblowing to me. (Eri’s look at 1.18 is particularly powerful)

All in all, another good haul. If I’m lucky more stuff should arrive next week.

Oh and congratulations to Kikkawa Yuu on her solo debut. I know some people have been waiting a long time for this.