Let’s talk about Tron

Saw Tron: Legacy yesterday. Quite enjoyed it.

I first saw the original Tron in 2008 when its sequel was surprisingly announced at that year’s Comicon (it was still called Tron 2 then). I absolutely loved the original. I had been aware of the movie for longer than that though. I had played some of the Tron 2.0 videogame put out by Monolith in 2003. I was aware of it’s status as a groundbreaking film when it came to digital effects. I’ve also been a lifelong Daft Punk fan and they’ve never hidden their love for all things Tron. You could say that now that they did the score on the sequel they’ve come full circle in a way.

Speaking of Daft Punk, the score in this movie is amazing. They were born to make this score. I already bought it off iTunes before I even saw the movie. Even if you don’t give a damn about Tron, if you call yourself a Daft Punk fan, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It’s like a 2 hour Daft Punk music video.

As for the movie itself, well, despite the mixed reviews it has gotten, I found the acting to be decent to very good across the board. Any faults the movie has is more due to a mediocre script and a somewhat convoluted plot. The concept of the McGuffin is also used in a big way. Jeff Bridges delivers a solid performance both as Clu and as Sam Flynn (although at times he seems to be channeling The Dude a bit too much). I actually like the way they digitally rejuvenated him. We’re not out of the uncanny valley yet, but we’re damn close. Garret Hedlund was clearly the weakest link but given some more experience I’m assured he’ll get there in the end. Although I don’t really know why Michael Sheen was in the movie, he still gives a great performance. I was actually most impressed with Olivia Wilde. The way she portrays innocence and youthful naïvete is quite refreshing to see. And it was nice to see Bruce Boxleitner again, even though he only has a minor role.

Not much to say about the digital effects. They were awesome. I particularly enjoyed the lightjets. The updated and “Tronified” Disney logo was also quite cool.

When it comes to 3D I’d say this movie does a very good job of keeping things subtle and not overemphasizing the 3D to the detriment of everything else in the movie. There are just a few moments where things pop out of the screen. The entire movie isn’t even shot in 3D, which I believe was a way for the director to make the viewer feel the difference between the real world and the Grid. The 3D-experience however (at least with Dolby 3D) still produces a picture that is too dark. I’m beginning to wonder if the only reason I enjoyed the 3D in How to Train Your Dragon is because that was such a bright movie to begin with.

All in all, quite a good movie. Watching it in 3D isn’t essential, but there are far worse uses of 3D out there (Clash of the Titans anyone?). A worthy sequel? I believe so, yes.