GETS!!! (13): Something digital, something physical

Another week, another GETS!!! post, although I honestly didn’t think I would be posting this so soon.

I can’t even really show you the first item since it’s completely digital: I purchased Total War: Shogun 2 from Steam on launch day.

Is it better than Empire? (I skipped Napoleon) On the whole, yes. It feels like Total War is finally back on track. The A.I. is much improved. It not only knows how to use ships, but it has become a fan of repeated amphibious assaults. It’s also fond of bypassing your strongholds and striking at weaker parts of your territory. The campaign map is gorgeous and the effect of revealing the fog of war is very nicely done. There are tons of little improvements everywhere and yet, unlike Empire, it doesn’t try to do too much. It’s also a heck of a lot more stable on release than Empire and seems to run better than Empire, at least on my configuration. That said, there are a few glitches. I can’t get water to show up for example, which is a clear graphical bug. Also anti-aliasing has yet to be included as part of a huge DX11 patch coming in the next few weeks. Doesn’t really bother me though as AA can be forced in the graphics settings of both AMD and Nvidia cards.

This seems to be a true return to form from The Creative Assembly and if you’re a fan of Total War, Shogun 2 has a lot going for it.

Next up we have two things from CDJapan. With the earthquake in Japan I honestly didn’t think I’d get anything from them but they stubbornly keep sending me stuff. In fact, if you buy anything from CDJapan right now, 2% will go to quake relief efforts. To me this was as much an excuse as anything to pre-order Dream 1, the first album by Dream Musume.

Anyhow, on to what I got. First up, Morning Musume Concert Tour “The BEST of Japan Natsu ~ Aki ’04”

I mainly purchased this concert DVD because I wanted to see some of the former (and older) members of Morning Musume in action. The earliest DVD I owned was from 2006. As such this DVD still includes Iida Kaori, Yaguchi Mari and Ishikawa Rika. The sound quality is actually one the best I’ve ever heard. I can’t say the same for the camerawork though. It’s downright bad in some cases, especially compared to DVD’s released in the 2008-2010 era. One thing to mention is that the concert was recorded in Yokohama Arena, which is my favorite venue when it comes to Morning Musume concerts. Not too big but still having that ‘arena’ feeling. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that the arena was filled with what seemed to be just as many fans as during EriJunLin’s graduation at the end of the 2010 Rival Survival tour. Just mentioning it for those people that think Morning Musume is in an endless spiral of decline.

Next up we have Oshare My Dream / Elegant Girl by Sugaya Risako and Ogawa Mana.

Honestly, if I had known this was on iTunes, I probably wouldn’t have bought this. Still, I not only bought it, I got the Limited B with Risako on the front cover and the included DVD which has the PV of Elegant Girl (included below) as well as the making of.

Besides the fact that these are both very good songs, this cd is special for another reason: it’s what introduced me to NICE GIRL Project. And while I don’t think Ogawa Mana, THE Possible, Canary Club and others deliver the same level of quality as Hello!Project, there are a few great songs in their repertoire.

That’s it for this post. Don’t know when I’ll post another GETS!!! post. I really should diversify my subject matter when it comes to blogging shouldn’t I?