Let’s talk about Momoiro Clover Z and Tanpopo

The transition from 2010 to 2011 must not have been all that easy for Momoiro Clover. Losing Akari was quite a blow and for a moment, I’ll admit, I was in doubt as to the group’s future. Flashforward to today and the group is back in action, dropping not only two brand new singles, but their first album (Battle and Romance) as well. I’ve been waiting for Momoclo (now Momoiro Clover Z) to wow me ever since the triumph that was their debut single and one of their new singles, D’ no Junjou, has done just that.

Freaking ninja's!

I’ll admit that their other single Z Densetsu ~Owarinaki Kakumei~ (released at the same time as this one) didn’t really appeal to me. Too upbeat, to gimmicky, I didn’t really like it. D’ no Junjou on the other hand is exactly what I wanted. Electronic goodness, decent vocals, a wonderfully funny yet awesome PV. It’s everything Ikuze! Kaitou Shoujo was and more.

Do note however, that if you buy this single (or it’s companion), you only get one song: no instrumental, no coupling. This is compensated by the low price, which is roughly half of a typical single. In many ways you could say that the simultaneous release of these two singles is more promotion for their upcoming album than releases in their own right.

As usual, I like to attach an older release to these posts. We’re going way back to the year 2000 for this one with Tanpopo’s Otome Pasta ni Kandou.

It was a golden age.

Tanpopo has always had this certain appeal to me. The only Morning Musume subgroup to have been created before the gigantic succes of Love Machine, Tanpopo was able to adapt and managed to outlast Petit Moni by almost a year. Otome Pasta ni Kandou was the debut single for the 2nd gen. More recent H!P fans may recognise this as “that song that S/mileage always keeps covering”.

After Ishiguro Aya left, Tsunku wisely decided that such a massive void of awesomess could only be filled by adding two brand new 4th genners, Ishikawa Rika and Kago Ai. In many ways the 2nd gen of Tanpopo was its own golden age, becoming more upbeat than the initial serious trio, yet still able to maintain their own separate identity. It also gave us some of the best Kago Ai lines ever.

That’s it for this post. Hope you enjoyed both the new and the old. If you liked Momoiro Clover Z’s new single, please support them by buying it here. Remember: music piracy is pure douchebaggery.

3 comments

  1. MTSayuRin

    Oh I really like Tanpopo too! Especially the 2nd and (old school purists will hate me for this) the 3rd line ups. I can’t help it, I love Be Happy Koi no Yajirobee, it’s so cute and cheerful. ^^ The 2nd generation songs are very charming. Oh and Kaori, Mari, and Konkon are amongst my top favourite OGs.

  2. jedimastertrunks

    Oh wow, D’ no Junjo is freaking awesome. I haven’t payed attention to Momoiro Clover since Ikuze! Kaitou Shoujo released (though I did listen to Pinky Jones, which is pretty cool) and yeah D’ no Junjo is full of win. That PV is great, too.

    You convinced me to buy it. For 500yen, I can’t pass it up! Thanks to some points that I’ve been hoarding, that single + shipping only cost me 327yen.

    • TommyVD

      Glad I was able to convince you. Although the awesomeness of the song speaks for itself.

      Momoclo actually managed to snag a Daily Oricon # 1 and # 2 with their double single release. Glad to see them going strong.