Let’s talk about “My Musume” and Platinum 9 Disco

When I got into idol music by way of Morning Musume and Hello! Project I quickly realised that I was utterly incapable of picking any true favorites. The amount of work and effort these idols put in is astounding and they are worthy of a great deal of respect. Yet I must confess that deep down in my irrational human brain I do have one special line-up that you could consider my favorite. It’s a line-up I like to call “My Musume”.

The best there was, is and ever will be.

I’m talking about the 2007-2009 (and to a certain extent 2010) Morning Musume line-up. Takahashi Ai, Niigaki Risa, Kamei Eri, Michishige Sayumi, Tanaka Reina, Kusumi Koharu, Mitsui Aika, Junjun and Linlin. The line-up that I fell in love with the first time I saw the PV to Mikan (the first Morning Musume PV I ever saw). When I got into the idol fandom I also quickly realised I’d never own as much merchandise as some people do. Not enough money, time or even room for it. I do however go out of my way to collect stuff related to “My Musume”. That’s why today we’re talking about the 2009 Platinum 9 Disco Concert DVD.

Disco Disco Di Di Di Disco

I really enjoyed watching this concert. The quality of the performances is consistent thoughout. I loved the disco theme for this concert even if that particular element wasn’t applied so consistently. There are, as always, some highlights worthy of mentioning, the first one being the opening number. SONGS not only proves it’s a great album opener but a great concert opener as well. The second you hear those trumpets blaring you can almost feel the fierceness that is to follow.

Here's the back of the DVD for those who are curious.

This concert also contains two of what I like to call “sex-up-the-stage-performances” namely the extremely well done renditions of Jounetsu no Kiss wo Hitotsu and Take off is now by Takahashi Ai, Niigaki Risa and Tanaka Reina. Risa especially excells here. While in my Fantasy DX post I described her as “a fierce warrior goddess on the battlefield of music” here she’s more in her “I-can-get-you-hot-and-bothered-by-just-looking-at-you” mode. Not to say that the other two didn’t do very well, it’s just that she clearly dominates these two performances in my opinion.

How many fans would have loved to have been that chair?

Another highlight is the Disco Medley in the middle of the concert. While some people have gotten bored of Morning Musume performing Renai Revolution 21 or LOVE Machine (I haven’t) you have to admit that they do put a new spin on these songs nearly every time they perform them. The best part of this medley is undoubtedly the transition to SEXY BOY ~Soyokaze ni Yorisotte~. You can just feel the anticipation building until it unleashes and the audience just goes completely wild (that has got to be some of the loudest chanting I’ve ever heard in any of the Morning Musume Concert DVD’s I own).

This screenshot has nothing to do with the Disco medley but I thought Koharu's GIANT HAT certainly deserved a mention in this post.

The final moment I’d like to highlight is Linlin’s breathtaking intro to Aozora ga Itsumademo Tsuzuku You na Mirai de Are! I’m not going to say much about it: just watch the video embedded below (an unofficial video so if it gets pulled I’ll modify this post)

Can you say: most underappreciated and underutilised H!P vocalist ever?

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I may be a tad biased since this is “My Musume” after all but I really enjoyed this concert and I think you (yes!, YOU!) will probably enjoy this as well.

As usual this DVD is available on CDJapan. Don’t miss it!