Let’s talk about °C-ute’s “Sekaiichi Happy na Onna no Ko”

Much like Berryz工房’s Aa, Yo ga Akeru this latest release from °C-ute kind of snuck up on me. There’s just so much that’s been happening within H!P and the idol world in general (and in real life as well, musn’t forget that) that it’s been a bit hard to keep up with new releases. Still, after lounging around in customs limbo for three days my copy of Sekaiichi Happy na Onna no Ko (World’s Happiest Girl) finally did get delivered to me.

I ordered the Limited A which comes with a lottery ticket and the dance shot version of the music video on DVD.

While they may have started out all cool and “hotpantsy” at the beginning of 2011 with Kiss Me Aishiteru, °C-ute have done a complete 180 towards the cute side of idol music, a change in style that started with Momoiro Sparkling and is continued with this latest release. I for one am completely fine with that. As I may have mentioned before on this blog, if a group called °C-ute can’t sing cute songs then I really don’t know what people want from this idol group.

Looking at this release, I find it to be a step up from Momoiro Sparkling, both musically and also when it comes to the promotion video. While I eventually did come to enjoy Momoiro Sparkling (and was happily humming it when °C-ute had their concert streamed over Youtube Live) I found I had to listen to it quite a few times before I was able to fully enjoy it. Not so with Sekaiichi Happy na Onna no Ko. It’s a very cheerful song that has the power to immediately put someone in a good mood. I particularly enjoyed the guitar in this song as well as the accelerated lines leader Yajima Maimi gets to sing. I was also pleasantly surprised to learn that Okai Chisato contributed to the chorus. It’s gratifying to see her continuing vocal improvement being recognised.

Chisato PUNCH!

The music video for this single is very colorful. The dance shot (included with the Limited A) is a bit goofy but seems fun enough. The girls certainly seem to be enjoying themselves immensely in this MV. I love how this MV builds up to something towards the end with the various shots of books being topled like dominos until we discover they actually form the word “HAPPY”. What bothered me about the MV of Momoiro Sparkling was that although the concept was well thought out, the execution left something to be desired. I have no quch qualms with the MV for Sekaiichi Happy na Onna no Ko.

I wonder what they're all pointing at?

This release also includes a coupling song called Idai na Chikara wo! (Great Strength!). I found it decent enough to let it sync to my iPhone, although I’m pretty sure I’ll listen to it less than some other °C-ute coupling songs I could mention (FARAWAY comes to mind). There are a couple of nice moments though, especially the part where Okai Chisato just randomly gives out a shout. Not the best °C-ute coupling song I’ve ever heard but quite decent nonetheless.

Saki pulls off one adorable smile in the music video for this single.

All in all I quite enjoyed this release. It makes me curious if °C-ute will continue with this style of music. If history is any indicator they should have one more single to round out 2011 (although the various collaboration singles that are coming out this year may change that), so it will be interesting to see if they go back to mature or stay °C-ute (if you’ll pardon the pun).

As usual, this single is available on CDJapan and iTunes. Do check it out and buy it if you like it. Don’t be a music pirate.

And as always, do feel free to comment.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Let’s talk about °C-ute’s mini-album « TVD NATION