Let’s talk about Steve Jobs

Shifting gears a bit with this post as it doesn’t mention anything about Jpop which has been the main focus of this blog for a good few months now. Instead it’s about something that a lot of people consider the most boring thing on earth. A book. That book being the Steve Jobs biography by Walter Isaacson.

The working title for this biography was "iSteve: The Book of Jobs".

Pictured above is the hardcover which I purchased purely for archival purposes. I’m currently reading the Kindle Edition on my iPad and am a good few chapters into it. It’s a very good read so far and I’m pretty certain I’m going to enjoy the whole thing. It’s not the book itself though that motivated me to put up this post, it’s the press attention surrounding it and the public reaction to it that I found highly intriguing

You see, many publications got advance copies of this book, as often happens when a release is highly anticipated or of great importance. Each publication did (and are still doing) what they were supposed to do: they highlighted what they thought was relevant and put up articles about it. (SPOILER WARNING). The Daily Mail focused on Jobs’ relation (or lack thereof) with his biological father, The Huffington Post pointed out how Jobs hated Fox News, while The Wall Street Journal talked about how Jobs originally wanted Intel chips for the iPad. I understand why these publications are doing this. Steve Jobs was a very well-known public figure and this book is chock full of information that will certainly entice their readers. They were just being good journalists.

Yet, the outcry on Twitter, Facebook and other places on the web against these kinds of articles sort of blew me away. Everywhere you went online you had people crying out that they didn’t want the press to spoil the book for them. Tweet after tweet, people were actually getting mad at the press for essentially doing their job. I found this to be fascinating.

It goes a long way in pointing out what a charismatic and yet enigmatic person Steve Jobs was to a lot of people. While I understand why the press reported so heavily on the release of this biography (Walter Isaacson must certainly be pleased) I can sort of see where the desire to “not know” came from. With Jobs passing away this is like finding something akin to the Dead Sea Scrolls for Apple. The last few revelations, steve-isms, the last bit of the reality distortion field we’ll ever get to experience. It would certainly be unfortunate if such an experience were spoiled.

While I may not always have agreed with Apple’s policies, I did always think the good outweighed the bad when it came to their products. When I look at my desk I see an iPhone 3GS and an iPad I use and enjoy using every day. I thank Steve for pushing the envelope, for keeping other tech companies alert and on their toes and for taking a brave first step in the dissolution of Digital Rights Management for online music stores.

I too avoided news stories on this biography like the plague. I just wanted my last experience of the reality distortion field and all the other insanely interesting stuff in this book to be a pure one.

The book is available on Amazon. I highly recommend it.

Next post will return this blog to the regular schedule of Jpop, happy-go-lucky idols and other niche interests.