Tagged: H!P

GETS!!! (15): Perfection

Warning! The following post is anything but objective. It is so drenched in the glow of absolute fandom that objectivity never even comes into the picture. Who cares though? Life is good if you’re a fan.

Let’s reel it in first. Before I give you the meat, I must present the potatoes.

First up we have Hello! Project 2010 WINTER Kachoufuugetsu ~Mobekimasu!~.

Now this is an interesting concert DVD for a number of reasons. One of these is C-ute. The tour itself took place during what I like to call the “Shock Era”. It was around the time of the release of their fifth album, Shocking 5, as well as the release of the single Shock which was the first single released after Umeda Erika left the group. Suffice to say the “Shock Era” was horrible. The album was uninspired and filled with bland songs and Shock basically boiled down to Suzuki Airi singing while her four little friends pranced foolishly in the background. I can’t even say there was unfair line-distribution, because there really wasn’t any line-distribution. For those who think that the ReinAi combo in Morning Musume is bad, Shock was worse. I say this because it’s nice to see them recover from that. Dance de Bakoon!, Aitai Lonely Christmas and Kiss me Aishiteru were all stellar songs and proved that C-ute still had what it took.

Two more items of interest are S/mileage and Mano Erina. Although S/mileage today have seven singles under their belt (all major ones landing in the Oricon top 10), it’s nice to see them as the indie idols they were back then, hungering for a major debut. Mano Erina also shines in this concert DVD providing the energy I found she somehow lacked during Fankora (not to say she was bad, there just wasn’t anything special there then). Even with songs I don’t particularly enjoy, she made a smile creep on my face time and time again.

All in all a pretty decent release if you’re a fan. Berryz工房 and Morning Musume both deliver very decent performances as well.

But now, after the potatoes, comes the meat. Cue fanboy driveling. I give you Morning Musume Concert Tour 2008 Haru ~Single Daizenshuu!!~.

This release is perfect. I can not stress this enough. It…is…perfect. Why? Let’s check out the setlist. (source: Generasia Wiki)

  2. Resonant Blue (リゾナント ブルー)
  3. Onna ni Sachi Are (女に 幸あれ)
  4. VTR – Member Introduction
  5. MC
  6. Egao YES Nude (笑顔YESヌード)
  7. Iroppoi Jirettai (色っぽい じれったい)
  8. Osaka Koi no Uta (大阪 恋の歌)
  9. MC
  10. Kanashimi Twilight (悲しみトワイライト)
  11. Ambitious! Yashinteki de Ii jan (Ambitious! 野心的でいいじゃん)
  12. Roman ~MY DEAR BOY~ (浪漫 ~MY DEAR BOY~)
  13. Do it! Now – Takahashi Ai then Morning Musume
  14. Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~ (Mr. Moonlight ~愛のビッグバンド~)
  15. Furusato (ふるさと) – Michishige Sayumi
  16. Namida ga Tomaranai Houkago (涙が止まらない放課後) – Kamei Eri
  17. Memory Seishun no Hikari (Memory 青春の光) – Tanaka Reina
  18. Manatsu no Kousen (真夏の光線) – Niigaki Risa (with Takahashi Ai, Kamei Eri, Michishige Sayumi, Tanaka Reina)
  20. Summer Night Town (サマーナイトタウン)
  21. MC
  22. Morning Musume no Hyokkori Hyoutanjima (モーニング娘。のひょっこりひょうたん島) – Kusumi Koharu, Mitsui Aika, Junjun, Linlin
  23. Morning Coffee (モーニングコーヒー) – Takahashi Ai, Niigaki Risa, Kamei Eri, Michishige Sayumi, Tanaka Reina
  24. Medley (メドレー)
  25. MC
  26. THE Manpower!!! (THE マンパワー!!!)
  27. Shabondama (シャボン玉)
  28. MC
  29. Medley (メドレー)
  30. MC
  31. Koko ni Iruzee! (ここにいるぜぇ!)
  32. Mikan (みかん)
  33. Aruiteru (歩いてる)
  1. MC
  2. Ai Araba IT’S ALL RIGHT (愛あらばIT’S ALL RIGHT)
  3. LOVE Machine (LOVEマシーン)

In case you didn’t know this was basically their entire discography (singles) from 1997 to 2008 (excluding Ai no Tane). Every single one. Usually a concert features songs on the album they are trying to promote alongside a few recent singles, a smattering of coupling songs, the occasional solo-performance as well as a few older classics. Not here. Here it’s every single they had released up till then.

What a bold choice and what a challenge at the same time, especially for the nahakkies (7th and 8th generation members). Yet they pull it off flawlessly. This concert is perfection incarnate. It is the triumph of the 2007-2009 9nin Morning Musume. From Takahashi Ai’s perfect rendition of Mr.Moonlight to Niigaki Risa’s stellar intro to Manatsu no Kousen. The nahakkies’ perfect performance of Morning Musume no Hyokkori Hyoutanjima, the two perfectly executed medleys, a wonderful performance of Mikan, an awesome Manpower, heck… even Sayumi knocks her Furusato right out of the park.

This concert DVD makes me smile and almost cry of joy. It manages to reaffirm my belief in the great potential of the human spirit. It is a light in the dark. A calm in the storm. I look at all the horrible things happening in the world today and when I watch this DVD it all goes away. It somehow manages to convince me that in the end we’re all going to be just fine. Yes I know that’s mostly naïve optimism but isn’t that what Morning Musume is about? It’s about having a truly positive outlook on life. It’s about looking to the future with true enthusiasm.

I urge you, if only ever buy one piece of Morning Musume or H!P related merchandise this is it. This is everything that defines why they are awesome. It’s a DVD that should make every one of their fans incredibly proud.